• On October 22, 2018, U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ryan Zinke joined Paul C. Johnson, president of Mines, to announce a long-term partnership between the university and the U.S. Geological Survey. The partnership will allow physical co-location of the Mineral Resources Program and its laboratories on Mines campus where government scientists and Mines faculty and students will work together in a new state-of-the-art facility. Johnson and Zinke were joined at the announcement by Senator Cory Gardner and Congressman Ed Perlmutter, as well as Mines Board of Trustees Chairman Thomas E. Jorden and Roseann Gonzales-Shreiner, USGS Associate Director for Administration and Acting Director for Southwest Region.



  • Mines President Paul Johnson and USGS Director Jim Reilly signed the bylaws of the Center for Mineral Resources Science on August 9, 2018. The bylaws formalize the partnership between both institutions providing a framework for joint research in economic geology.

Following in-depth discussions throughout the year, the Mines and USGS leadership teams presented a proposal to the Mines Board of Trustees on October 27, 2017 to enhance the scientific partnership between both institutions, which would include physical co-location of the Mineral Resources Program on campus. All Trustees provided their approval to move forward to the next step and to commence with the planning of a state-of-the-art facility. The anticipated completion data for the new building is 2021.


Mines President Paul Johnson and U.S. Geological Survey Director Suzette Kimball signed a memorandum of understanding creating the Center for Mineral Resources Science on August 3, 2016. The document established that research on the genesis, exploration, modeling, mapping and economic analysis of critical minerals and materials represents a priority for both institutions.

From left: College of Engineering and Computational Sciences Dean Kevin Moore, Senior Vice President for Research and Technology Tony Dean, College of Earth Resource Sciences and Engineering Dean Ramona Graves, President Paul Johnson, USGS Director Suzanne Kimball, USGS Southwest Regional Director Max Etheridge, USGS Head of the Natural Resources Program Larry Meinert and Mines Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Kirsten Volpi.