Mines Faculty and Staff

Co-Director

Thomas Monecke

Professor
Economic Geology, VMS Deposits, Hydrothermal Geochemistry, Archean Geology
tmonecke@mines.edu
303-273-3066

Academic Faculty

Wendy Bohrson

Professor and Department Head Geology and Geological Engineering
Volcanology, Magma Evolution
bohrson@mines.edu
303-273-3066

Zhaoshan Chang

Professor and Charles F. Fogarty Endowed Chair
Economic Geology
chang@mines.edu
303-384-2127

Mary Carr

Research Assistant Professor
Sedimentary Geology, Manager of the Center for Advanced Subsurface Earth Resource Models
mcarr@mines.edu
303-273-3107

Mary Doherty

Program Manager for Professional Master in Mineral Exploration
medoherty@mines.edu
303-273-3930

Richard Goldfarb

Research Professor
Economic Geology, Orogenic Gold Deposits, Tectonics
goldfarb@mines.edu
303-273-3800

Elizabeth Holley

Associate Professor
Economic Geology, Carlin-Type Deposits, Mining Engineering
eholley@mines.edu
303-273-3409

Yvette Kuiper

Associate Professor
Structural Geology, Field Geology, Geochronology
ykuiper@mines.edu
303-273-3105

David Leach

Research Professor
Economic Geology, Sedimentary-Hosted Lead-Zinc Deposits
dleach@mines.edu
303-273-3800

Yaoguo Li

Professor
Geophysics, Mineral Exploration, Joint Inversion
ygli@mines.edu
303-273-3510

Thomas Monecke

Professor
Economic Geology, VMS Deposits, Hydrothermal Geochemistry, Archean Geology
tmonecke@mines.edu
303-273-3841

Katharina Pfaff

Research Associate Professor
Mineralogy, Igneous Petrology, Rare Metal Deposits, Manager of the Automated Mineralogy Laboratory
kpfaff@mines.edu
303-384-2487

Andrei Swidinsky

Associate Professor
Geophysics, Electrical and Electromagnetic Exploration
aswidins@mines.edu
303-273-3934

Staff

Jae Erickson

Manager of the Thin Section Laboratory
jaericks@mines.edu
303-273-3824

Susann Stolze

Research Associate
Manager of the Stable Isotope Laboratory, Palynology
sstolze@mines.edu
303-384-2128

Affiliate Faculty

TUCKER BARRIE

Genesis Metallic Mineral Deposits, Igneous Geochemistry, Sustainable Resource Management
barriect@sympatico.ca

Nigel Kelly

Affiliate Faculty
Metamorphic Petrology, Economic Geology, Metamorphosed Ore Deposits, Geochronology
nkelly@mines.edu

LARRY MEINERT

Skarn Deposits, Economic Geology, Mineralogy, Critical Element Resources
ldmeinert@gmail.com

DAVID WOOD

Structural Geology, Geometallurgy
davidwood@mines.edu