Mines Faculty and Staff

Co-Director

Thomas Monecke

Professor
Economic Geology, VMS Deposits, Hydrothermal Geochemistry, Archean Geology
tmonecke@mines.edu
303-273-3841

Academic Faculty

Wendy Bohrson

Professor and Department Head Geology and Geological Engineering
Volcanology, Magma Evolution
bohrson@mines.edu
303-273-3066

Zhaoshan Chang

Professor and Charles F. Fogarty Endowed Chair
Economic Geology
chang@mines.edu
303-384-2127

Mary Carr

Research Assistant Professor
Sedimentary Geology, Manager of the Center for Advanced Subsurface Earth Resource Models
mcarr@mines.edu
303-273-3107

Steve Enders

Mining Engineering Department Head
Exploration Management, Business of Economic Geology, Supergene Processes
menders@mines.edu
303-273-3700

Richard Goldfarb

Research Professor
Economic Geology, Orogenic Gold Deposits, Tectonics
goldfarb@mines.edu
303-273-3800

Elizabeth Holley

Associate Professor
Economic Geology, Carlin-Type Deposits, Mining Engineering
eholley@mines.edu
303-273-3409

Yvette Kuiper

Associate Professor
Structural Geology, Field Geology, Geochronology
ykuiper@mines.edu
303-273-3105

David Leach

Research Professor
Economic Geology, Sedimentary-Hosted Lead-Zinc Deposits
dleach@mines.edu
303-273-3800

Jeff Lee

Research Professor
Tectonics, Crustal Fluid Flow,
lee1@mines.edu

Yaoguo Li

Professor
Geophysics, Mineral Exploration, Joint Inversion
ygli@mines.edu
303-273-3510

Thomas Monecke

Professor
Economic Geology, VMS Deposits, Hydrothermal Geochemistry, Archean Geology
tmonecke@mines.edu
303-273-3841

Katharina Pfaff

Research Associate Professor
Manager of the MMC Facility
Mineralogy, Igneous Petrology, Rare Metal Deposits 
kpfaff@mines.edu
303-384-2487

Staff

Mary Doherty

Manager of the Professional Master’s in Mineral Exploration Program
medoherty@mines.edu
303-273-3930

Jae Erickson

Manager of the Thin Section Laboratory
jaericks@mines.edu
303-273-3824

Susann Stolze

Research Associate
Manager of the Mines Stable Isotope Laboratory
Stable Isotope Geochemistry, Palynology
sstolze@mines.edu
303-384-2128

Affiliate Faculty

TUCKER BARRIE

Genesis of Metallic Mineral Deposits, Igneous Geochemistry, Sustainable Resource Management
barriect@sympatico.ca

Nigel Kelly

Metamorphic Petrology, Economic Geology, Metamorphosed Ore Deposits, Geochronology
nkelly@mines.edu

LARRY MEINERT

Skarn Deposits, Economic Geology, Mineralogy, Critical Element Resources
ldmeinert@gmail.com

RICHARD PALIN

Metamorphic Petrology
richard.palin@earth.ox.ac.uk

T. JAMES REYNOLDS

Fluid Inclusions, Fluid-Fluid Interaction, Porphyry Copper Deposits, Epithermal Deposits, Orogenic Gold Deposits
fluidinc@comcast.net

DAVID WOOD

Structural Geology, Geometallurgy
davidwood@mines.edu

YUANHAI YANG 

Petrophysics, Carbonate-Hosted Ore Deposits
steve.yang01@comcast.net