USGS Scientists and Staff

Co-Director

Warren Day

Field Geology, Regional Tectonics, Structural Geology, Petrology, Economic Geology
wday@usgs.gov
303-236-6484

Scientists

Eric Anderson

Geophysics, Aeromagnetic Data, Spatial Data Analysis, Mineral Deposits, Alaska Geology
ericanderson@usgs.gov
303-236-5652

Jonathan Caine

Structural Geology, Tectonics, Hydrogeology, Field Mapping
jscaine@usgs.gov
303-236-1822

Kate Campbell-Hay

Microbial and Abiotic Metal Redox Cycling, Mineralogy
kcampbell@usgs.gov
303-541-3035

Thomas Chapin

Biogeochemical Cycling in Acid Rock Drainage Systems
tchapin@usgs.gov
303-236-3200

LaDonna Choate

Toxicity of Mine Waste, Geochemistry
lchoate@usgs.gov
303-236-1241

Timothy S. Collett

Unconventional Natural Gas Resources, Gas Hydrates, Marine Geology, Geophysics
tcollett@usgs.gov
303-236-5731

Warren Day

Field Geology, Regional Tectonics, Structural Geology, Petrology, Economic Geology
wday@usgs.gov
303-236-6484

Geoffrey S. Ellis

Organic Geochemistry
gsellis@usgs.gov
303-236-5762

Poul Emsbo

Economic Geology, Carlin Deposits, Sedimentary Copper Deposits, Phosphorite REE Deposits, Isotope Geochemistry
pemsbo@usgs.gov
303-236-1113

Garth Graham

Hyperspectral Surveying, Alaska Geology
ggraham@usgs.gov
303-236-1558

Tien Grauch

Geophysics, Midcontinent Rift Geology, Rio Grande Rift Geology
tien@usgs.gov
303-236-1393

Seth S. Haines

Geophysics, Gas Hydrates
shaines@usgs.gov
303-236-5709

Albert H. Hofstra

Economic Geology, Carlin Deposits, IOA-IOCG Deposits, Melt and Fluid Inclusions
ahofstra@usgs.gov
303-236-5530

JoAnn Holloway

Watershed Biogeochemistry, Hydrothermal Geochemistry, Hg Biogeochemistry
jholloway@usgs.gov

303-236-2449

Chris Holm-Denoma

Structural Geology, Tectonics, Field Mapping, In Situ Geochronology (SHRIMP and LA-ICP-MS), Trace Element Geochemistry, Carlin Deposits
cholm-denoma@usgs.gov
303-236-5454

Andy Hunt

Noble Gas Geochemistry, Gas Geochemistry, Geothermal Systems
ahunt@usgs.gov
303-236-4931

Karen Duttweiler Kelley

Economic Geology, Exploration Geochemistry, Alkalic-Related Epithermal Deposits, Sediment-Hosted Pb-Zn Deposits, Alaska Geology
kdkelley@usgs.gov
303-236-2467

Alan Koenig

LA-ICP-MS Analyses, Trace Element Geochemistry, Microanalytical Method Developments
akoenig@usgs.gov
303-236-3475

Raymond Kokaly

Remote Sensing, Hyperspectral Spectroscopy
raymond@usgs.gov
720-352-7414

Andrew H. Manning

Metal Transport in Groundwater, Noble Gas Geochemistry, Hydrothermal Geochemistry
amanning@usgs.gov
303-236-1812

Erin Marsh

Fluid Inclusions, Mineral Chemistry
emarsh@usgs.gov
303-236-2473

Jeff Mauk

Epithermal Systems, Geothermal Systems, Mineralogy, Geochronology
jmauk@usgs.gov
303-236-5605

Chris Mills

Surface Geochemistry, Metal Transport in Surface Waters
cmills@usgs.gov
303-236-5529

Jean M. Morrison

Surface and Soil Geochemistry, Metal Transport in Surface Waters
jmorrison@usgs.gov
303-236-6366

Leah E. Morgan

Ar/Ar Geochronology
lemorgan@usgs.gov
303-236-4729

Chris Moses

Science Policy, Geomorphology of Carbonate Systems, Stable Isotope Geochemistry
cmoses@usgs.gov
303-236-1800

William I. Ridley

Igneous Petrology, Volcanology, Mineralogy
iridley@usgs.gov
303-236-5558

Kate Souders

Isotope Geochemistry, Igneous Petrology, Geochronology, Metamorphic Petrology
asouders@usgs.gov
303-236-9374

Cliff Taylor

REE Deposits, Banded Iron Ores, Volcanogenic Massive Sulfide Deposits, Sediment-Hosted Copper Deposits
ctaylor@usgs.gov
303-236-2499

Ryan Taylor

Economic Geology, Orogenic Gold, Porphyry Cu-Mo-Au, Mineral Chemistry
rtaylor@usgs.gov
303-236-1882

Phil Verplanck

Critical Element Resources, Carbonatite and Alkaline Intrusive-Related REE Deposits
plv@usgs.gov
303-236-1902

Richard Wanty

Environmental Geochemistry, Geochemistry of Non-Traditional Stable Isotopes
rwanty@usgs.gov
303-236-1819

Douglas Yager

Volcanology, Abandoned Mine Lands, San Juan Mountain Regional Geology
dyager@usgs.gov
303-236-2487